
It's hard to believe that Justin and I have been married for over a 2 months already. I had intended on starting a blog as soon as we got married so everyone we don't get to talk to that often can still keep in contact. However, life has been super busy and I haven't had a chance until now to start the blog.
I think my best place to begin would be the wedding day. Most of you that will be reading this were there and you are all aware of my "not so perfect....but perfect day." If you weren't, you definetly missed an interesting ceremony.
So here goes, an insight into the whole ordeal.
April 10th:This was Good Friday, so I had the day off of school. I did the basic girly things....nails, tanning, preparations for the wedding, setting up the reception. The day was going very smoothly and I enjoyed spending the entire day with my two older sisters. My cousins Larry and Marcia came down to stay with my family for the wedding...and surprised us all by bringing my cousin Josh who I hadn't seen for years. Josh is in the army and has since then served and returned from his duty in Iraq. We were all very excited to see him.That night was rehearsal. It went great, we ate, we laughed, we had fun and everything was perfect. After rehearsal Justin and I ran to Wal-Mart to get some ink so I could finish printing directions to Walnut Creek Country Club. At Wal-Mart I started to feel "icky." I didn't think anything of it...I thought it would just pass. Justin dropped me off and we said our "good-byes" and talked about how excited we were for the next day. I went in the house, visited with my cousins some and went to bed around 10:00 p.m. I fell asleep very quickly.
Around 1:00 a.m. I woke up feeling horrible. I was sick to my stomach. So from about 1:00 a.m. until.........who knows? I was up throwing up every 20-30 minutes. My body was on an alarm clock. I was unable to get any sleep. Then I finally got myself up and went and got my Mama....I had to admit that it was really happening, I had a stomach virus the day of my wedding.I climbed in bed with my Mama and Daddy and laid there with them all night while my Mama held me. My daddy went to Wal-Mart at 4:00 a.m. to get me medicine....it didn't help.
By the time the actual morning came, I could barely stand, I was so weak and exhausted. I was unable to keep anything down. Initially everyone thought it was nerves (everyone but me.) After a while they all started to believe me when I said it was definetly not nerves.
April 11:I eventually peeled myself out of bed to get my hair done. After that I went to get my make up done and had to tell the lady to stop half way through because I couldn't sit there anymore. My wonderful maid of honor was with me and took me home. I laid down and napped for about 20 minutes before having to be at the church. When I got to the church I laid down for a little while, and then started to feel better. My spirits were raised, as were everyone else's....I was laughing and finally able to eat a little food. I had been drinking Gatorade all day because I was so dehydrated. I had my Mema and Tara massaging my legs, because they ached so bad.The good feeling only lasted about 20 minutes..... from that point on it was downhill. I took some medicine right before walking down the aisle. It didn't help. However, my wonderful Mama and wedding directors had planned for the worst, they had a chair for me to sit in and a trash can for me to be sick in.I walked down the aisle, Daddy gave me away and I was doing okay for a while. Until...I wasn't doing so "okay."
Most of you know the rest of the story. I got sick. Justin still kissed me. I was still married and just as happy as I would have been if my day had gone "as planned."We went to the reception, I still felt awful. But everyone ate, danced and had a great time.
The next day we left for Jamaica. It was the first time I had ever flown in a plane. We were upgraded to first class...and I slept through the whole flight. Imagine that....first time flying and I slept through it.
Jamaica was wonderful. I couldn't haved asked for a better honeymoon. My favorite parts were snorkeling on old Pirate artifacts...(I love pirate stuff) and swimming in a cave.Pretty much my wedding was as far from the textbook image of "perfect." For me it was perfect. I've never looked back and been mad or sad about my wedding. At the end of the day the one thing I wanted to be done was done....we were married and I was as happy as could be.Plus....nobody is EVER going to forget our wedding. Who else can say they had such a memorable wedding?!?!
Many people have felt sorry for me or apologized and sympathized for me....but I don't need it. I don't feel sorry for myself...I'm happy and I've never been upset about the way my wedding turned out. If anything...I know it made the day a lot easier on my parents....and to me..it makes it worth it.Plus, I know everything happens for a reason. There is a reason God had my wedding turn out the way it did. I might never know why, but he knows and I am thankful for that.
So we are married, happy and living in Greene County. We've recently gotten a puppy and named her Zoe. She's spoiled.

Well that's where we are now, 2 months of marital bliss.
I am so happy you are blogging! I loved reading this post. I hated it that you didn't feel good on your wedding day but, regardless of how you felt, your wedding was still romantic and beautiful. You were so pretty and it was obvious to everyone how much Justin loved his new bride. When Justin kissed you at that alter, it was one of the most romantic things I've ever seen. While everyone else's wedding will be a faded fuzzy memory, yours will always be remembered as one of the most romantic in my mind. Congrats you two!!
ReplyDeleteI loved reading about your wedding. I am sad that we couldn't make it. We had our hands full with a newborn!! =) That is so great that you were not upset about your wedding day. Like you said, the important part is that you are happily married!!! Congrats!!!!
ReplyDeleteI loved reading this post! I have to admit I felt horrible for you, but I am so glad that you are so optimistic about the whole ceremony and even though you were deathly sick you were the most beautiful bride and I couldn't even tell you felt bad! Your wedding was still perfect and we had a great time (besides seeing you feel bad afterwards). I am so glad you are blogging - hope you don't mind if I read! Zoe is soooo precious (what a cute first baby haha). I can tell you and Justin are so in love and it feels my heart with joy to see people truely in LOVE!
ReplyDelete